Posts Tagged "Marvel Comics"
1960’s - Stan Lee & The Rise of Marvel Comics
In 1961 Stan Lee & Jack Kirby created the Fantastic Four, and on the wave of meteoric success went on to create even more of comics most beloved characters such as Thor, Hulk, Iron Man, and more. 
"The Marvel of the 1960s was in its own way the counterpart of the French New Wave… Marvel was pioneering new methods of comics storytelling and characterization, addressing more serious themes, and in the process keeping and attracting readers in their teens and beyond. Moreover, among this new generation of readers were people who wanted to write or draw comics themselves, within the new style that Marvel had pioneered, and push the creative envelope still further."-Peter Sanderson
It’s #nationalcomicbookday and comiXology is giving you a crash course into the history of comics! Also head over to this page and get over 25 free comics when you use the code COMICS at checkout to help you celebrate!

1960’s - Stan Lee & The Rise of Marvel Comics

In 1961 Stan Lee & Jack Kirby created the Fantastic Four, and on the wave of meteoric success went on to create even more of comics most beloved characters such as Thor, Hulk, Iron Man, and more. 

"The Marvel of the 1960s was in its own way the counterpart of the French New Wave… Marvel was pioneering new methods of comics storytelling and characterization, addressing more serious themes, and in the process keeping and attracting readers in their teens and beyond. Moreover, among this new generation of readers were people who wanted to write or draw comics themselves, within the new style that Marvel had pioneered, and push the creative envelope still further."
-Peter Sanderson


It’s #nationalcomicbookday and comiXology is giving you a crash course into the history of comics! Also head over to this page and get over 25 free comics when you use the code COMICS at checkout to help you celebrate!

comixology:

So you want to get started with the Guardians of the Galaxy?

The first thing you gotta know is these aren’t your every-day, goody-two-shoes, superheroes. The Guardians are some of the most badass space pirates this side of the Milky Way, and before they make their big screen debut, comiXology is here to make sure you’re the most well-versed person in the theater opening night.

First you gotta meet the team:

Jump into the renowned 2008 run by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning. This series put together the characters that we have all suddenly become obsessed with. You can pick it up in 25 single issues or 4 collected volumes, or for the frugal minded grab the whole thing with our Guardians of the Galaxy Bundle

Maybe you just want to get reading right now and don’t care about all that backstory. You’re the type of reader with modern sensibilities, eh? Well lucky for you GotG just got a fresh coat of paint early last year, by the man, the legend, the prolific writer and answerer of many a hair-dressing question on tumblr, brianmichaelbendis. Dive into now and you could be caught up by tonight! Pick up Vol. 3 right here.

And for the completists among us, we present to you some Universe-Expanding reads in Annihilation, where bug-like villain Annihilus enters the universe from the Negative Zone with the Annihilation Wave, a massive armada of warships. The Annihilation Wave begins to destroy anything in its path, including huge chunks of galactic civilization. Nova (Richard Rider) assembles a force to fight back. Check it out here.

comiXolgy Unbound's Weekend #comicbinge
Superior Spider-Man

Otto Octavius’s tenure as the superior Spider-Man has come and gone, but this weekend we are going to re-live our favorite SpOck moment while we re read all 31 issues. 

[Binge on Superior Spider-Man on comiXology]

Let us know what your favorite Superior Spider-Man moments were with a reply to this post! I was a fan of the “Peter Palmer” reference above.


#comicbinge comes to you every Friday at the end of the work day suggesting series runs you can binge on over the weekend!

Is anyone ready to talk about the time Thor hit Galactus so hard he puked and then Galactus hit Thor so hard he went through the entire planet and broke the moon?

This is from Thor: God of Thunder #21 by the way, and it’s amazing. 

So much going on today! Almost forgot to post the weekly #NewComicDay post! Here are some books you can’t miss this week!

Superior Spider-Man #31 -SERIES FINALE! The end of an era! A tale of triumph and tragedy! The GREEN GOBLIN unmasked! A hero reborn! But what does this mean for OTTO OCTAVIUS?! There’s only one man who can save us from the Goblin Nation… PETER PARKER: The one, true SUPERIOR SPIDER-MAN!
Batman #30 - The beginning of the end of Zero Year!
Ms. Marvel #3 - See what we had to say about this book here!
Justice League #29 - See what we had to say about this book here!
Solar: Man of the Atom #1See what we had to say about this book here!
Bandette #7 -The Urchins are warned of a deadly threat! Monsieur is trapped in the act of a daring burglary! Absinthe is enraged by a bold theft beneath his very nose! Bandette continues to pilfer the objects held most dear to Absinthe, all the while collecting evidence to be used against his corrupt organization, FINIS! Our beloved heroine scoffs at all laws in pursuit of her quest, but there is one law even she must obey… the law of gravity!
CBLDF: Liberty Celebrate creative freedom with the industry’s top talents in LIBERTY, a collection benefiting the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund! This deluxe edition collects LIBERTY ANNUAL 2008-2012, with additional material not seen anywhere else and a stunning new cover by PAUL POPE! LIBERTY includes rare work, including a THE WALKING DEAD tale by ROBERT KIRKMAN & CHARLIE ADLARD, 100 Words by NEIL GAIMAN & JIM LEE, Criminal by ED BRUBAKER & SEAN PHILLIPS, The Boys by GARTH ENNIS & DARICK ROBERTSON, plus stories from GEOFF JOHNS, MARK MILLAR, JH WILLIAMS III, TERRY MOORE, HOWARD CHAYKIN, JASON AARON, BRIAN WOOD, STUART & KATHRYN IMMONEN, MIKE ALLRED, DARWYN COOKE, PAUL POPE, and dozens more! LIBERTY also includes incredible illustrations from FRANK MILLER, JEFF SMITH, TIM SALE, JOHN ROMITA JR., MIKE MIGNOLA, and many more! All proceeds from this collection benefit the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund’s work protecting the freedom to read!
GenesisA trippy journey of creation and destruction as one man finds himself with the ability to manifest anything by thinking it-only to learn that with seemingly unlimited power comes unstoppable terror.

Check these out and all the other new releases available today on comiXology!

A comiXologist Recommends:
Kate Kasenow recommends Ms. Marvel #3

As a recent reboot, the new Ms. Marvel series from Marvel Comics has quite a history to live up to, but the newest issue does not disappoint!

Written by seasoned comics novelist G. Willow Wilson (gwillow) and illustrated by the talented Adrian Alphona with beautiful colors by Ian Herring (iherring) , Ms. Marvel #3 is the ongoing exploration of what it means to become a hero in a world already inundated with superhero culture. In this issue we are carried along with lead protagonist Kamala Khan as she explores the boundaries of her newfound powers. Tensions are riding high as Kamala’s ongoing struggle to discover who she is bombarded by parental expectations and cultural obligations.

There have been a lot of great things happening in this series from the start. Firstly, we have a new female, Pakistani, Muslim superhero. Second, we have a diverse cast full of great characters who are given their own chances to shine and develop in each issue. Lastly, we are viewing the established Marvel universe through the unique lens; Kamala herself has long been a fan of the superheroes we know, but is a newcomer to their inner workings. That itself is what makes this series perfect for old fans and new readers alike.

So, if you haven’t been reading, now is a great time to get started!

[Pick up Ms. Marvel #3 here!]

For fans of: Action, Female leads, Superheroes

Kate Kasenow is a comics artist from Indiana currently living in Manhattan. She works at ComiXology as a Lead Digital Editor.

Today’s Marvel Monday Sale also includes greg-pak's incredible Planet Hulk run!
What happens when all the superheroes of the Marvel Universe get sick of the Hulk? They shoot him into outer space of course, where he lands on another planet and is forced to fight in gladiatorial battle for the entertainment of an oppressive emperor.
This story is found in Incredible Hulk #92 - 105 which you can get for just 99¢ each today! 

Today’s Marvel Monday Sale also includes greg-pak's incredible Planet Hulk run!

What happens when all the superheroes of the Marvel Universe get sick of the Hulk? They shoot him into outer space of course, where he lands on another planet and is forced to fight in gladiatorial battle for the entertainment of an oppressive emperor.

This story is found in Incredible Hulk #92 - 105 which you can get for just 99¢ each today! 

Indestructible Hulk #1-4

Tony Stark and Reed Richards use their genius to save the world every other week. That’s how they’ll be remembered in history. Meanwhile, I— I who, forgive me, have just as much to contribute— will be lucky if my tombstone doesn’t simply say “Hulk Smash.”

Sale on Indestructible Hulk #1-10 is happening today only! Click here to get em for 99¢ each!

brianmichaelbendis:

Scarlet by Bendis & Maleev

Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world. A woman who decides to stand up and fight back. A woman who will not back down. A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution!! In the vein of Alias, Powers, and Jinx, Scarlet debuts a fascinating new comics character that, with every issue, reveals new things about herself against a completely original backdrop of intrigue and drama.

[Get Scarlet on comiXology]

(via wakely)